What to consider when using it

Anyone who wants to use Facebook must first register free of charge. This is possible from a minimum age of 13, with the permission of a parent or guardian. From the age of 16, you can use the social network freely. However, there is no age verification.

Registration is possible directly on the Facebook homepage. There, a few mandatory details such as name, e-mail address and password are requested. In the further registration process, various personal data can be entered. On the one hand, this serves to find friends directly and to be found more quickly oneself, and on the other hand, to design one's own profile. However, this information is not mandatory, but voluntary.

It is recommended to leave it at the entry of the mandatory information . In particular, information about the place of residence, school or workplace should not be given out lightly.

Facebook offers another option for easy integration into the community. When registering, users can agree to a comparison with their personal e-mail account. This means that friends can be found as quickly as possible using the e-mail addresses stored there. However, data from non-members is also stored permanently and without being asked. This process should be waived by clicking "Skip this step".

No matter how long you have been using Facebook, you should make sure to check your personal settings regularly. These can be found in the browser view in the top right dropdown under "Settings and Privacy". Here you can configure a variety of settings to your liking. Facebook also offers answers to any questions about the network and its use in the help section. This area can also be viewed if you are not logged in or registered with the social network.

Privacy and security

To check the privacy and data protection settings, Facebook offers the so-called "privacy check". Here you are guided through all possible options. For example, you can specify exactly who can see what you post or how you can be found on Facebook. If you carefully work through all the settings, you can protect your own data from strangers. However, Facebook itself will continue to collect some usage data for its own use.

In the Security and Login section, you can check everything about the registration. After registering, it is advisable to set the two-step authentication here. This way you can protect your account from strangers in addition to a secure password. If someone logs into your account using a "foreign" device, this person will be asked for an additional password, which you have chosen before.

In addition to this setting, another important section in the security and login area is the overview of the logged-in devices. Here you can see the devices and the location on which you are currently logged in, or were logged in. This is an additional way to check if someone else has access to your account.

Advertisements

At first glance, Facebook is a free Internet service. The company is financed by advertisers who place their ads within the network. The more precisely advertisers can target their potential customers, the more money an advertising message is worth to them. For this reason, Facebook collects data from advertisers, app developers, and publishers about activities on and off Facebook. This includes data about the use of partner websites and apps (e.g. clicking the "Like" button) and certain offline interactions (e.g. purchases).

To decide for yourself which ads you want to see, you should go to the "Ads" section. Here you have the option to object to the transfer of personal data, among other things. In the help area, all questions regarding the topic of advertisements are explained in detail.

Delete or deactivate account

With Facebook, there are two ways to terminate the membership: the account can either be deactivated or deleted "entirely". However, there is no way to remove the data once published on the network with certainty. Deactivation means that the profile is no longer displayed to other users, but it is not deleted either. The reasoning behind this is that many users want to revive their Facebook account at a later date and then expect to find their data still there. After deactivation, users can restore their profiles at any time.

Anyone who wants to leave Facebook for good and does not plan to return must delete their account. The name and profile picture of the account are then separated from all content to which they were connected.

If one's own content is not removed before the account is deleted, it will remain on Facebook. If one has left comments, for example, they remain online. Pictures of friends on which you are pictured also remain, as they do not belong to your own photo albums.
If you don't want any more photos of yourself on Facebook, you should find them and ask the owner of the album to delete them. In addition, Facebook reserves the right to continue to store data even if it has been requested to be deleted, among other things on the grounds of preventing identity fraud. How to deactivate or delete your own profile is explained in Facebook's help section.

Block and report

Anyone who feels harassed by others on Facebook, for example by unwanted messages or posts, has a simple way to remedy this with the "Block user" function. Blocked users can no longer see their own Facebook profile and posts and are also no longer able to send direct messages. However, this also applies vice versa, i.e. one is also no longer able to see the Facebook page of the other person and send personal messages. If you block a person, they will not be informed about this step. However, it is of course possible that the blocked person notices that you can no longer be found via the profile search, for example. Here is a step-by-step guide on how to block users.

In addition to the option of blocking users, there is another way to stop problematic content from being displayed on Facebook: you can report the relevant content anonymously and recommend that Facebook delete it. Almost all content on Facebook can be reported: complete profiles, individual posts or personal messages, groups, images, videos, etc.. The field for reporting a photo, video or similar can almost always be found on the post itself. If you have any difficulties, you can find adetailed explanationat saferinternet.at .