Strategies against Hate Speech

Counter Speech

People are affected by hate speech in very different ways. Anyone dealing with hate speech online should therefore not only teach media literacy and advocate for a fair culture of discussion, but also be informed about the content of discriminatory structures in analog life.

As a general rule, no one should have to fear violence in the public sphere. And of course this applies equally to the digital habitat. Countering racist and inhuman voices is therefore a task for society as a whole. Offline and online.

Parents and educators are called upon to act as role models. In this respect, the following tips for young people also apply to adults in order to take responsibility online. Parents and educators should discuss how to deal with hate speech with young people and address it in their educational work.

Be active against hate speech

The Internet is your living space. Take responsibility and make sure that racism, sexism and hate speech have no place on the Internet. Haters and constant troublemakers (so-called trolls) must not be allowed to cause girls or boys to withdraw from social media for fear of violence. Show civil courage - online and offline!

Take a stand for open-minded and respectful coexistence. Point out to others if you consider what they post to be racist. Inform yourself, argue against incitement on the Internet, resist with words. This way, racists and misanthropes do not have the feeling that they are acting on behalf of a silent majority.

Pay attention to netiquette and a fair tone - even words can hurt others. Avoid aggressive-sounding pseudonyms. Even on supposedly funny sites, make sure that the jokes are not made at the expense of others. Discrimination is not funny! Be careful not to use language patterns that contain prejudices.

Delete insults and threats as a moderator of a page. Block people who make racist comments or remove them from your friends list. Report hate comments to the site operators so that they can be deleted. Do not forget to provide evidence in the form of screenshots. Statements that are, for example, incitement to hatred or violence are forbidden by law and can be punished.

Hate speech is sometimes not recognizable at first glance. In some cases, false statements are deliberately spread to incite hatred, or hate speech masquerades as irony. Right-wing extremist groups in particular use social media to spread misanthropic content. Be critical and check sources and profiles. Only adopt as friends those you know and trust.

Irony can also be a means of countering hatred on the web with attitude. Sometimes humor also helps to debunk absurd arguments. However, this does not stimulate a factual discussion and there is a risk of being misunderstood. Those who engage with content must bring a lot of time and energy to the table and be careful not to become a target themselves.

Be aware of yourself and your limits when dealing with hate comments. There are people on the Internet who want to spread their hate messages as far as possible, no matter how. If posts from such constant troublemakers get too close to you, delete or block them. Don't expose yourself to unnecessary danger with counter-speech.

If you're unsure or are being targeted yourself, talk to friends, parents, or other trusted people and get support. You can find help on these sites on the web:

Promote a culture of communication

The long-term prevention of hate speech needs a solid foundation. Adolescents need experiential spaces to develop a factual, open and appreciative debate culture. This includes genuine opportunities for participation in shaping their (digital) lives, through which they can experience the value of democratic processes. In their discussions with others, they should learn to give constructive feedback and to accept it themselves.

Furthermore, educational professionals and parents are needed who seek out content-related discussions. In this way, the everyday structures of discrimination that provide the breeding ground for hate speech can be broken down: racism, anti-Semitism and anti-Muslim racism, sexism, and homophobia and transphobia.

Gender-sensitive pedagogy, which takes gender issues and sexuality into account, can also provide an important building block for the prevention of hate speech. This also applies to intercultural approaches or the discussion of faith issues in work with young people. Specific materials for work on these and other topics can be found at klicksafe.de (e.g., the material packages "Ethik macht klick" and "Let's talk about Porno"), www.ufuq.de (portal for pedagogy between Islam, Islamophobia and Islamism) or www.pinkstinks.de on the topic of gender roles.

Action concepts for facilities

Institutions and groups that want to communicate via social media channels need a strategy for uniform administration of the online offering. This includes certain measures: e.g., commenting on unwanted comments individually, reporting them to the platform operator, and/or deleting them. Permanent troublemakers (so-called trolls) should be blocked. A permanent editorial team has proven its worth. Employees should request appropriate time slots or working hours for this purpose.

Above all, administrators should be visible and not be intimidated by censorship calls. It is important to adhere to the established rules of conversation and, in the event of violations, to delete them rigorously. If an institution does not have sufficient time or staff to intensively manage its Internet presence, it can restrict or disable comment functions. Users can then still share, like or retweet posts.

Tips for setting up rules can be found at www.belltower.news, for example, which lists many concrete ways of responding to right-wing populist discussion strategies. The Media Authority of North Rhine-Westphalia (Landesanstalt für Medien NRW) offers training materials on the topic of "Learning to moderate hate comments."

In principle, it is always worthwhile to get in touch with users and be approachable. In this way, they feel taken seriously and are more willing to show civil courage, intervene or report violations in acute cases. In the long term, engaged users are the best response to hate comments. Because trolls and haters are not the masses.

Strategien gegen Hate Speech

Counter Speech

Menschen sind von Hate Speech in sehr unterschiedlicher Art und Weise betroffen. Wer sich mit Hassreden im Netz auseinandersetzt, sollte deshalb nicht nur Medienkompetenz vermitteln und für eine faire Diskussionskultur eintreten, sondern auch inhaltlich über diskriminierende Strukturen im analogen Leben informiert sein.

Grundsätzlich gilt: Niemand sollte im öffentlichen Raum Gewalt fürchten müssen. Und natürlich gilt dies ebenso für den digitalen Lebensraum. Rassistischen und menschenverachtenden Stimmen entgegenzutreten ist deshalb eine gesamtgesellschaftliche Aufgabe. Offline und online.

Eltern und pädagogische Fachkräfte sind hier vor allem in ihrer Vorbildrolle gefragt. Insofern gelten die nachfolgend genannten Tipps für Jugendliche auch für Erwachsene, um im Netz Verantwortung zu übernehmen. Eltern und Fachkräfte sollten den Umgang mit Hate Speech mit Jugendlichen besprechen bzw. in der pädagogischen Arbeit thematisieren.

Aktiv werden gegen Hate Speech

Das Internet ist dein Lebensraum. Übernimm Verantwortung und sorge dafür, dass Rassismus, Sexismus und Hetze im Netz keinen Platz finden. Hater*innen und Dauer-Störer*innen (sogenannte Trolle) dürfen in Sozialen Medien nicht dafür sorgen, dass sich Mädchen oder Jungen aus Angst vor Gewalt zurückziehen. Zeige Zivilcourage – online und offline!

 

Beziehe Position für ein weltoffenes und respektvolles Miteinander. Weise andere darauf hin, wenn du das, was sie posten, für rassistisch hältst. Informiere dich, argumentiere gegen Hetze im Netz, betreibe Widerstand mit Worten. So haben Rassisten und Menschenfeinde nicht das Gefühl, im Sinne einer schweigenden Mehrheit zu handeln.

 

Achte auf Netiquette und einen fairen Umgangston – auch Worte können andere verletzen. Vermeide aggressiv klingende Pseudonyme. Schaue auch bei vermeintlich lustigen Seiten darauf, ob die Späße nicht auf Kosten anderer gemacht werden. Diskriminierung ist nicht lustig! Pass auf, dass du nicht selbst Sprachmuster benutzt, in denen Vorurteile stecken.

 

Lösche Beleidigungen und Bedrohungen als Moderator*in einer Seite. Blocke Leute, die sich bewusst rassistisch äußern, oder streiche sie von deiner Freundesliste. Melde Hasskommentare bei Betreibern der Seite, damit diese gelöscht werden. Vergiss dabei nicht, Beweise in Form von Screenshots mitzuliefern. Aussagen, die z. B. volksverhetzend sind oder zu Gewalt aufrufen, sind gesetzlich verboten und können geahndet werden.

 

Hate Speech ist manchmal nicht auf den ersten Blick erkennbar. So werden teils bewusst falsche Aussagen verbreitet, um Hass zu schüren oder Hate Speech tarnt sich als Ironie. Vor allem rechtsextreme Gruppen benutzen Soziale Medien, um menschenfeindliche Inhalte zu verbreiten. Sei kritisch und prüfe die Quellen und Profile. Adde nur als Freunde, wen du kennst und wem du vertraust.

Auch Ironie kann ein Mittel sein, um Hass im Netz mit Haltung zu begegnen. Manchmal hilft Humor auch, um absurde Argumente zu entlarven. Allerdings wird dadurch keine sachliche Diskussion angeregt und es besteht das Risiko missverstanden zu werden. Wer inhaltlich einsteigt, muss viel Zeit und Energie mitbringen und aufpassen, nicht selbst zur Zielscheibe zur werden.

Achte beim Umgang mit Hasskommentaren auf dich selbst und deine Grenzen. Es gibt Leute im Netz, die ihre Hassbotschaften möglichst weit verbreiten wollen, egal wie. Wenn Beiträge von solchen Dauer-Störer*innen dir zu nah gehen, ist Löschen oder Blocken angesagt. Setze dich bei Counter Speech (englisch für „Gegenrede") nicht unnötigen Gefahren aus.

 

Wenn du unsicher bist oder selbst angefeindet wirst, dann sprich mit Freunden, Eltern oder anderen vertrauten Personen und hol dir Unterstützung. Auf diesen Seiten im Netz findest du Hilfe:

Kommunikationskultur fördern

Die langfristige Prävention von Hate Speech braucht eine solide Basis. Heranwachsende benötigen Erfahrungsräume, um eine sachliche, offene und wertschätzende Debattenkultur zu entwickeln. Dazu gehören echte Partizipationsmöglichkeiten zur Mitgestaltung ihrer (digitalen) Lebenswelt, durch die sie den Wert demokratischer Prozesse erleben können. Sie sollten in der Auseinandersetzung mit anderen gezielt lernen, konstruktives Feedback zu geben und auch selbst anzunehmen.

Weiterhin braucht es pädagogische Fachkräfte und Eltern, die die inhaltliche Auseinandersetzung suchen. So lassen sich eben jene alltäglichen Diskriminierungsstrukturen aufbrechen, die den Nährboden für Hate Speech liefern: Rassismus, Antisemitismus und antimuslimischer Rassismus, Sexismus sowie Homo- und Transphobie.

Auch eine geschlechtersensible Pädagogik, die Genderfragen und Sexualität in den Blick nimmt, kann einen wichtigen Baustein zur Prävention von Hate Speech liefern. Dies gilt ebenso für interkulturelle Ansätze oder die Thematisierung von Glaubensfragen in der Arbeit mit Jugendlichen. Konkrete Materialien für die Arbeit zu diesen und anderen Themen finden sich u. a. auf klicksafe.de (z. B. die Materialpakete „Ethik macht klick“ und „Let´s talk about Porno“), www.ufuq.de (Portal für Pädagogik zwischen Islam, Islamfeindlichkeit und Islamismus) oder www.pinkstinks.de zum Thema Geschlechterrollen.

Handlungskonzepte für Einrichtungen

Einrichtungen und Gruppen, die über Social-Media-Kanäle kommunizieren wollen, brauchen eine Strategie zur einheitlichen Administration des Online-Angebots. Dazu gehören bestimmte Maßnahmen: z. B. unerwünschte Kommentare individuell zu kommentieren, beim Plattformbetreibenden zu melden und/oder zu löschen. Dauer-Störer*innen (sogenannte Trolle) sollten geblockt werden. Bewährt hat sich ein festes Redaktionsteam. Dafür sollten Mitarbeiter*innen entsprechende Zeitfenster oder Arbeitszeit einfordern.

Administrator*innen sollten vor allen Dingen sichtbar sein und sich nicht von Zensur-Rufen einschüchtern lassen. Es gilt, aufgestellte Gesprächsregeln einzuhalten und im Falle von Verstößen rigoros zu löschen. Hat eine Einrichtung kein ausreichendes Zeit- oder Personalkontingent, um die Internet-Präsenz intensiv zu betreuen, kann sie Kommentarfunktionen einschränken oder abschalten. Nutzer*innen können Beiträge dann trotzdem weiterhin teilen, liken oder retweeten.

Tipps zum Aufstellen von Regeln bietet z. B. die Seite www.belltower.news, die viele konkrete Reaktionsmöglichkeiten auf rechtspopulistische Gesprächsstrategien nennt. Die Landesanstalt für Medien NRW bietet Schulungsunterlagen zum Thema "Hasskommentare moderieren lernen" an.

Grundsätzlich lohnt es sich immer, mit Nutzer*innen in Kontakt zu treten und ansprechbar zu sein. So fühlen sich diese ernstgenommen und sind im akuten Fall eher bereit, Zivilcourage zu zeigen, sich einzumischen oder Verstöße zu melden. Langfristig sind engagierte Nutzer*innen die beste Antwort auf Hasskommentare. Denn Trolle und Hater*innen sind nicht die breite Masse.