Hate Speech

Incitement to hatred and discrimination in social networks, online forums and comment columns has become a problem for society as a whole. They threaten the diversity of opinion and democracy. The forsa surveys commissioned by the Media Authority NRW show that the vast majority of Internet users surveyed are aware of hate comments on the Internet. In a nationwide, representative study commissioned by Campact e.V., almost ¾ of respondents said: they are concerned that verbal violence on the Internet is increasing violence in everyday life.

Hate speech is not purely an online phenomenon, but is based on analog power and discrimination structures. In addition, a kind of disinhibition effect can be observed on the Internet. Opinions that are often only openly held by a minority in real life are published with just a few clicks and find a large stage on the Internet. Behind this are not infrequently right-wing extremist groups and individuals who use the possibilities of the Internet for their propaganda. The lack of a direct counterpart, the possibility of remaining anonymous, and the knowledge that they will hardly be held accountable further contribute to disinhibition. Not only is hate speech anonymous, but it is also often carried out openly using real names.

Hate speech does not affect everyone equally. While cyberbullying, so-called shitstorms or a crude communication culture on the Internet can, in principle, affect everyone to the same extent, hate speech is primarily directed against people because they are assigned to a certain group. They experience devaluation on the basis of their skin color, their (supposed) origin, their religion, their gender, their sexual orientation or their body. In this respect, hate speech is closely linked to the concept of group-based misanthropy. However, it can also affect those who are not themselves assigned to one of the aforementioned groups, but who stand up for their rights and against misanthropy online and offline.

Forms of Hate Speech

Hate speech can be expressed very directly, for example in clearly racist or sexist insults and by inciting violence. Sometimes, however, expressions are more difficult to assess. How can you recognize hate speech even in its more subtle varieties? Using various forms of hate speech as examples, we present central linguistic and content-related patterns.

In the context of the global refugee crisis and the associated debate about immigration to Germany, racist hate speech has gained massive intensity online. The Internet acts like a megaphone here: the real number of haters may be relatively small, but their permanent visibility gives the appearance of a broader movement. This in turn can boost racist acts and right-wing extremist groups in analog life.

This is also possible indirectly - for example, through the dissemination of uninformed or false statements that serve racist stereotypes, such as those about "social parasites." Racist statements often disguise themselves as humor or irony.

One of the recurring motives of racist hate speech is to instrumentalize debates about sexualized violence against women. The demand to protect "our women" from "them" is an example of the "us/them" rhetoric typical of hate speech. Incomplete information, disinformation or rumors about crimes and one-sided or subjectively filtered reporting in one's own filter bubble condense into a conspiracy-theory worldview. Media that report differently and in a differentiated manner are degraded to the status of "lying press.

In addition to these more indirect forms, hate speech is expressed in direct form in calls for concrete acts of violence against refugees or people with a migration history. In both forms - direct and indirect - hate speech contributes to a social climate that gives racist and right-wing extremist individuals and groups the feeling that they are acting in the interests and as the mouthpiece of a silent majority. One measure of this mood is the current figures from the Federal Criminal Police Office, which count an increase in politically motivated acts of violence with a right-wing extremist background.

Closely related to racism in general is hate speech that attacks and devalues people on the basis of their religion. Anti-Semitic and anti-Muslim voices are particularly noticeable here. The phenomena differ from one another in history and content and should not be equated here. What they have in common, however, is that they use religion or culture as a pretext to devalue people - regardless of actual religiosity and religious practice. The limits of legitimate criticism of religion are far exceeded in both cases.

Anti-Semitism remains widespread in German society. Anti-Muslim attitudes have increased sharply in recent years - and demonstrably not only on the right-wing fringe or in right-wing extremist scenes, but in all social strata. This sentiment is picked up and amplified on the Internet. Entire blogs are dedicated to inciting hatred against people of the Muslim faith or defaming associations and mosque communities as well as politicians who do not act in a religious capacity, such as Cem Özdemir or Aydan Özoguz.

The social networks and comment columns of online media are full of age-old stereotypes of a threatening Islamization. They draw heavily on particularly striking imagery - also typical of the hate speech phenomenon. Young people can also be directly affected by this type of hate speech. If it goes unchallenged, it often creates a feeling among young people that they are excluded, rejected and not respected because of their religious affiliation or family background.

Sexism refers to the discrimination and devaluation of women and girls on the basis of their gender. Women in Germany experience this in the form of sexual harassment in public, at work and school, or in their social environment - many as early as adolescence.

The Internet is no exception. Young female users in particular often experience sexist attacks there. These include degrading slogans and sexually explicit insults, the threat or advocacy of sexualized violence, and even the publication of real or digitally manipulated nude photos. Often the threats occur in such a concentrated form that it can be assumed that the perpetrators have formed a kind of "hate group. Women who express themselves politically as politicians, bloggers, activists or journalists are often affected. They experience a different kind of criticism than their male colleagues, are more often judged on the basis of their appearance or attacked in their sexual integrity. But girls and young women who use the Internet on a daily basis and rightly see it as their digital habitat can also become the target of sexist hate speech as soon as they express themselves publicly there.

Discrimination on the basis of gender identity or sexual orientation also affects transsexual, intersexual and homosexual persons or transgender people. Here, young people in the phase of finding their identity are particularly at risk of becoming victims of hostility, devaluation and collective violence. The transitions to cyberbullying are fluid (see "Hate speech and cyberbullying").

In the same way, indirect hate speech directed against these groups in general unsettles young people. It can deprive them of the self-esteem they need, especially in this phase, to deal with their bodies and sexuality in a self-determined way. Central elements of homophobic hate speech include conspiracy theories of state-enforced re-education, organized "advertising" for homosexuality and a powerful "homo lobby. Equating what cannot be equated - homosexuality is associated with pedosexual criminality, incest or bestiality - is also a central motif of homophobic hate speech.

The patterns of hate speech described can also affect those who are not themselves assigned to one of the groups mentioned, but who are active online and offline against misanthropy or who are active in civil society: Refugee helpers, feminist and anti-racist activists, or politicians. They themselves are often the target of hateful comments, insults and threats. But even young people who intervene in debates with a clear stance can be exposed to hostility.

The content in the topic area "HateSpeech" is based on the brochure "Hate Speech - Hass im Netz - Informationen für Fachkräfteund Eltern" (Hate Speech - Hate on the Net - Information for Professionals and Parents) by the Media Authority NRW and the Working Group for the Protection of Children and Young People NRW (AJS) in cooperation with klicksafe.

Hate Speech

Hetze, Hass und Diskriminierung in Sozialen Netzwerken, Online-Foren und Kommentarspalten sind zu einem gesamtgesellschaftlichen Problem geworden. Sie bedrohen die Meiungsvielfalt und die Demokratie. Die von der Landesanstalt für Medien NRW in Auftrag gegebenen forsa-Befragungen zeigen, dass die überwiegende Mehrheit der befragten Internetnutzenden Hasskommentare im Internet wahrnehmen. In einer bundesweiten, repräsentativen Studie im Auftrag von Campact e.V gaben fast ¾ der Befragten an: sie seien besorgt, dass durch verbale Gewalt im Internet die Gewalt im Alltag zunimmt.

Hate Speech ist kein reines Netzphänomen, sondern basiert auf analogen Macht- und Diskriminierungsstrukturen. Zusätzlich lässt sich im Internet eine Art Enthemmungseffekt beobachten. Meinungen, die im realen Leben oft nur von einer Minderheit offen vertreten werden, sind mit wenigen Klicks veröffentlicht und finden im Internet eine große Bühne. Dahinter stehen nicht selten rechtsextreme Gruppen und Personen, die die Möglichkeiten des Internets für ihre Propaganda nutzen. Das fehlende direkte Gegenüber, die Möglichkeit, anonym zu bleiben, und das Wissen, kaum zur Rechenschaft gezogen zu werden, tragen weiter zur Enthemmung bei. Dabei wird nicht nur anonym gehetzt, sondern häufig auch ganz offen mit Klarnamen.

Hate Speech trifft nicht alle gleich. Während etwa von Cybermobbing, sogenannten Shitstorms oder einer verrohten Kommunikationskultur im Netz im Prinzip alle in gleichem Maße betroffen sein können, richtet sich Hate Speech vorwiegend gegen Personen, weil sie einer bestimmten Gruppe zugeordnet werden. Sie erfahren eine Abwertung aufgrund ihrer Hautfarbe, ihrer (vermeintlichen) Herkunft, ihrer Religion, ihres Geschlechts, ihrer sexuellen Orientierung oder ihres Körpers. Hate Speech ist insofern eng verknüpft mit dem Begriff gruppenbezogener Menschenfeindlichkeit. Sie kann aber auch jene treffen, die zwar selbst nicht einer der genannten Gruppen zugeordnet werden, aber online und offline für deren Rechte und gegen Menschenfeindlichkeit eintreten.

Formen von Hate Speech

Hate Speech kann sich sehr direkt äußern, z. B. in eindeutig rassistischen oder sexistischen Beleidigungen und durch die Anstiftung zur Gewalt. Manchmal sind Äußerungen aber auch schwieriger einzuschätzen. Wie kann man Hassrede auch in ihren subtileren Spielarten erkennen? Anhand verschiedener Formen von Hate Speech stellen wir exemplarisch zentrale sprachliche und inhaltliche Muster vor.

Im Kontext der weltweiten Flüchtlingskrise und der damit verbundenen Debatte über Zu- und Einwanderung nach Deutschland haben rassistische Hassreden im Netz massiv an Intensität gewonnen. Das Internet wirkt hier wie ein Megafon: Die reale Anzahl der Hater*innen mag relativ gering sein, ihre permanente Sichtbarkeit erweckt aber den Anschein einer breiteren Bewegung. Dies kann wiederum rassistischen Taten und rechtsextremen Gruppierungen im analogen Leben Auftrieb geben.

Das ist auch indirekt möglich – beispielsweise durch die Verbreitung uninformierter oder falscher Aussagen, die rassistische Stereotype bedienen, wie die vom „Sozialschmarotzertum“. Rassistische Aussagen tarnen sich dabei nicht selten als Humor oder Ironie.

Zu den wiederkehrenden Motiven rassistischer Hate Speech gehört auch, Debatten über sexualisierte Gewalt gegen Frauen zu instrumentalisieren. In der Forderung „unsere Frauen“ vor „denen“ zu schützen, zeigt sich exemplarisch die für Hate Speech typische Wir/Die-Rhetorik. Lückenhafte Informationen, Desinformation oder Gerüchte über Straftaten und eine einseitig rezipierte bzw. subjektiv gefilterte Berichterstattung in der eigenen Filterblase verdichten sich hier zu einem verschwörungstheoretischen Weltbild. Abweichend und differenziert berichtende Medien werden zur „Lügenpresse“ degradiert.

Neben diesen eher indirekten Formen äußert sich Hate Speech in direkter Form im Aufruf zu konkreten Gewalttaten gegen Flüchtlinge oder Menschen mit Migrationsgeschichte. In beiden Formen – der direkten wie auch der indirekten – tragen Hassreden zu einem gesellschaftlichen Klima bei, das rassistischen und rechtsextremen Personen und Gruppierungen das Gefühl gibt, im Sinne und als Sprachrohr einer schweigenden Mehrheit zu handeln. Ein Gradmesser dieser Stimmung sind die aktuellen Zahlen des Bundeskriminalamtes, welche eine Zunahme politisch motivierter Gewalttaten mit rechtsradikalem Hintergrund zählen.

Eng verbunden mit Rassismus im Allgemeinen sind Hassreden, die Menschen aufgrund ihrer Religion angreifen und abwerten. Besonders auffällig sind hier antisemitische und antimuslimische Stimmen. Die Phänomene unterscheiden sich in Geschichte und Inhalt voneinander und sollen hier nicht gleichgesetzt werden. Gemein ist ihnen aber, dass sie Religion oder Kultur als Vorwand nutzen, um Menschen – unabhängig von tatsächlicher Religiosität und religiöser Praxis – abzuwerten. Die Grenzen legitimer Religionskritik sind in beiden Fällen weit überschritten.

Antisemitismus ist in der deutschen Gesellschaft nach wie vor weit verbreitet. Stark zugenommen haben in den letzten Jahren antimuslimische Einstellungen – und das nachweislich nicht nur am rechten Rand oder in rechtsextremen Szenen, sondern in allen gesellschaftlichen Schichten. Im Netz wird diese Stimmung aufgegriffen und verstärkt. Ganze Themenblogs widmen sich der Hetze gegen Menschen muslimischen Glaubens oder diffamieren Verbände und Moscheegemeinden ebenso wie nicht in religiöser Funktion auftretende Politiker*innen wie etwa Cem Özdemir oder Aydan Özoguz.

Die Sozialen Netzwerke und Kommentarspalten von Online-Medien sind voll mit jahrhundertealten Stereotypen einer drohenden Islamisierung. Sie greifen dabei stark auf eine besonders plakative Bildsprache zurück – ebenfalls typisch für das Phänomen Hate Speech. Auch Jugendliche können direkt von dieser Art der Hassrede betroffen sein. Bleibt sie unwidersprochen, erzeugt sie bei Jugendlichen oft das Gefühl, aufgrund ihrer Religionszugehörigkeit oder familiären Herkunft ausgrenzt, abgelehnt und nicht respektiert zu werden.

Sexismus bezeichnet die Diskriminierung und Abwertung von Frauen und Mädchen aufgrund ihres Geschlechts. Frauen in Deutschland erleben dies in Form von sexueller Belästigung in der Öffentlichkeit, in Job und Schule oder im sozialen Nahraum – viele bereits ab dem Jugendalter.

Das Internet bildet hier keine Ausnahme. Gerade junge Nutzerinnen erleben dort häufig sexistische Angriffe. Dazu gehören degradierende Sprüche und sexuell explizite Beleidigungen, die Androhung oder Befürwortung sexualisierter Gewalt bis hin zur Veröffentlichung von echten oder auch digital manipulierten Nacktaufnahmen. Häufig treten die Drohungen in solch konzentrierter Form auf, dass von einer Verabredung der Täter zu einer Art „Hass-Gruppe“ auszugehen ist. Oft sind Frauen betroffen, die sich als Politikerin, Bloggerin, Aktivistin oder Journalistin politisch äußern. Sie erleben eine andere Art der Kritik als ihre männlichen Kollegen, werden häufiger anhand ihres Aussehens bewertet oder in ihrer sexuellen Integrität angegriffen. Aber auch Mädchen und junge Frauen, die das Netz ganz alltäglich nutzen und zu Recht auch als ihren digitalen Lebensraum verstehen, können zur Zielscheibe sexistischer Hate Speech werden, sobald sie sich dort öffentlich äußern.

Diskriminierung aufgrund der geschlechtlichen Identität oder sexuellen Orientierung trifft ebenso transsexuelle, intersexuelle und homosexuelle Personen oder Transgender. Hier sind Jugendliche in der Phase der Identitätsfindung besonders gefährdet, Opfer von Anfeindungen, Abwertung und kollektiver Gewalt zu werden. Die Übergänge zu Cyber-Mobbing sind fließend (siehe „Hate Speech und Cyber-Mobbing“).

Genauso verunsichert Jugendliche eine indirekte, allgemein gegen diese Gruppen gerichtete Hetze. Sie kann ihnen das Selbstwertgefühl nehmen, das sie gerade in dieser Phase für einen selbstbestimmten Umgang mit ihrem Körper und ihrer Sexualität brauchen. Zentrale Elemente homophober Hate Speech sind etwa Verschwörungstheorien einer staatlich forcierten Umerziehung, einer organisierten „Werbung“ für Homosexualität und einer mächtigen „Homo-Lobby“. Auch die Gleichsetzung des nicht Gleichsetzbaren – Homosexualität wird mit pädosexueller Kriminalität, Inzest oder Sodomie in Verbindung gebracht – ist ein zentrales Motiv von homophober Hate Speech.

Die geschilderten Muster der Hassrede können auch jene treffen, die zwar selbst nicht einer der genannten Gruppen zugeordnet werden, aber online und offline gegen Menschenfeindlichkeit eintreten oder sich zivilgesellschaftlich engagieren: Flüchtlingshelfer*innen, feministische und rassismuskritische Aktivist*innen oder Politiker*innen. Sie werden nicht selten selbst zum Ziel hasserfüllter Kommentare, Beleidigungen und Drohungen. Aber auch Jugendliche, die sich mit klarer Haltung in Debatten einmischen, können Anfeindungen ausgesetzt sein.

Die Inhalte im Themenbereich "Hate Speech" basieren auf der Broschüre „Hate Speech – Hass im Netz – Informationen für Fachkräfte und Eltern“ der Landesanstalt für Medien NRW und der Arbeitsgemeinschaft Kinder- und Jugendschutz NRW (AJS) in Kooperation mit klicksafe.