Who hasn't experienced this: We actually wanted to put the smartphone away a long time ago, but we're still glued to our devices. The pull of the digital world is getting stronger and stronger. Many of us - as well as young people - are finding it increasingly difficult to control it. In an age of constant accessibility and extensive use of digital media, "offline time" is repeatedly recommended as a way to reduce "digital stress" in everyday life. Digital Detox can be a good starting point for reflecting on one's own media consumption and changing it in a meaningful way.

Digital well-being - Knowing what is good for us

Almost all current social networks and services function according to the principles of digital attention. They are designed in such a way that more and more time is spent on social media than originally planned. Through comparisons with unattainable ideals of beauty or confrontation with hate messages, cyberbullying, fake news or content relevant to youth protection, social media use can have an additional negative impact on well-being. Recent studies show that the type of content we consume and how we consume it can also have negative effects on our sense of happiness or our body perception.

In order to achieve digital well-being, young people also need to be exposed to content that does them good and encourages them. Using media in a meaningful way and, for example, creating content themselves and using it creatively instead of just passively consuming it can also be fulfilling. In our material "Ommm online - How we increase our digital well-being", young people will find tools with which they can regulate technologies and thus increase their digital well-being. This also includes creating a healthy balance in media and technology use and, for example, abstaining from media for a while.

    In the digital maelstrom

    When we use digital services, the reward center in the brain becomes active. So we feel a form of happiness when we get likes and positive comments on our postings. If no measures are taken to control this, it can develop into a digital addiction.

    Even children and young people are at risk of developing excessive use of digital devices, as several studies on the usage behavior of children and young people confirm. For example, a study commission ed by the DAK found that by the end of 2020, 8.2% of the children and young people surveyed were already exhibiting usage behavior that was classified as at least risky in terms of usage time. A particular focus was on gaming and the use of social media services.

    You can counteract excessive use with a few tricks: 

    • Turn off all or most app notifications to be less distracted in your daily life. How to block app notifications is explained e.g. Handysektor.
    • Clear the main screen at and keep only the apps you use regularly.
    • Operate self-monitoring and check how often and how long you use your phone. To do this, you can, for example, download an app that lets you see how often you look at your phone. Make sure to use privacy-compliant apps when doing this. Many services such as YouTube or Instagram and operating systems such as iOS offer the option of documenting screen time or setting limits. iPhone users (from iOS 12) will find the"Screen time" function in the settings. With the help of monitoring, you become more aware of your actual usage time. This can help you to minimize your usage times permanently.

Wer kennt das nicht: Eigentlich wollten wir das Smartphone schon längst weggelegt haben, aber immer noch kleben wir an unseren Geräten. Der Sog des Digitalen wird immer stärker. Ihn zu kontrollieren, fällt vielen von uns – ebenso wie Jugendlichen – zunehmend schwer. In einer Zeit ständiger Erreichbarkeit und extensiver Nutzung digitaler Medien wird immer wieder „Offline-Zeit“ empfohlen, um den „digitalen Stress“ im Alltag abzubauen. Digital Detox kann ein guter Einstieg sein, um den eigenen Medienkonsum zu reflektieren und sinnhaft zu verändern.

Digital Wohlfühlen – Wissen, was uns guttut

Fast alle aktuellen sozialen Netzwerke und Dienste funktionieren nach den Prinzipien der digitalen Aufmerksamkeit. Sie sind so konzipiert, dass immer mehr Zeit in Social Media verbracht wird, als ursprünglich geplant. Durch Vergleiche mit unerreichbaren Schönheitsidealen oder die Konfrontation mit Hassbotschaften, Cybermobbing, Fake News oder jugendschutzrelevanten Inhalten kann Social-Media-Nutzung das Wohlbefinden zusätzlich negativ beeinflussen. Aktuelle Studien zeigen, dass die Art, welche Inhalte wir wie konsumieren, auch negative Effekte auf unser Glücksempfinden oder unsere Körperwahrnehmung haben kann.

Um digitales Wohlbefinden zu erreichen, müssen junge Menschen auch solche Inhalte kennenlernen, die ihnen guttun und sie bestärken. Medien sinnvoll zu nutzen und zum Beispiel selbst Inhalte zu erstellen und damit kreativ zu gestalten, statt bloß passiv zu konsumieren, kann außerdem erfüllend sein. In unserem Material „Ommm online – Wie wir unser digitales Wohlbefinden steigern“ finden Jugendliche Werkzeuge, mit denen sie Technologien regulieren und damit ihr digitales Wohlbefinden steigern können. Dazu gehört auch, eine gesunde Balance bei der Medien- und Technologienutzung herzustellen und etwa zeitweise auf Medien zu verzichten.

    Im digitalen Sog

    Bei der Nutzung digitaler Dienste wird das Belohnungszentrum im Gehirn aktiv. Wir spüren also eine Form von Glück, wenn wir Likes und positive Kommentare auf unsere Postings bekommen. Wenn keine Maßnahmen zur Kontrolle getroffen werden, kann daraus eine digitale Abhängigkeit entstehen.

    Bereits Kinder und Jugendliche sind gefährdet, eine exzessive Nutzung digitaler Geräte zu entwickeln, wie mehrere Studien zum Nutzungsverhalten von Kindern und Jugendlichen bestätigen. So fand eine von der DAK in Auftrag gegebene Studie heraus, dass Ende 2020 bereits 8,2% der befragten Kinder und Jugendlichen ein Nutzungsverhalten zeigten, das zumindest als riskant in Bezug auf die Nutzungsdauer eingestuft wurde. Ein besonderer Fokus lag dabei auf Gaming und der Nutzung von Social-Media-Diensten.

    Mit einigen Tricks können Sie exzessiver Nutzung entgegenwirken: 

    • Schalten Sie alle oder den Großteil der App-Benachrichtigungen aus, um in Ihrem Alltag weniger abgelenkt zu werden. Wie man App-Benachrichtigung blockiert, erklärt z.B. Handysektor.
    • Räumen Sie den Hauptbildschirm auf und behalten Sie nur die Apps, die Sie regelmäßig nutzen.
    • Betreiben Sie Selbst-Monitoring und überprüfen Sie, wie oft und wie lange Sie Ihr Handy nutzen. Dazu können Sie beispielsweise eine App herunterladen, mit der Sie erkennen können, wie häufig Sie auf Ihr Telefon schauen. Achten Sie hierbei auf datenschutzkonforme Apps. Viele Dienste wie YouTube oder Instagram und Betriebssysteme wie iOS bieten die Möglichkeit, Bildschirmzeiten zu dokumentieren oder Limits festzulegen. iPhone-Nutzer*innen (ab iOS 12) finden die Funktion "Bildschirmzeit" in den Einstellungen. Mithilfe des Monitorings wird Ihnen Ihre tatsächliche Nutzungzeit bewusster. Dies kann dabei helfen, Ihre Nutzungszeiten dauerhaft zu minimieren.