What is YouTube?

YouTube was originally developed to allow users to upload and share their own videos. But YouTube has undergone a rapid development towards professionalization. Among other things, the introduction of the partner program, the monetization of videos and the creative potential of the actors were decisive for this. As a result, the number of videos that are becoming more and more professional is on the rise. They cover a wide range of genres, from fashion and beauty to music, sports, education, and even commented video games (so-called "Let's Plays"). These can be accessed at without any technical barriers or login scenarios.

The platform leaves hardly anything to be desired due to the huge breadth of different genres and topics. If users are looking for instructions on how to build an individual shelf, YouTube offers a wide range of helpful videos. Fitness workouts, for example, are also available. So YouTube is not just a way to be entertained. It's a social platform that offers a helpful video for many concerns, in addition to comedy and music.

While television has many restrictions in terms of time and space and is mainly entertainment in nature, YouTube allows freedom of choice in terms of "when" and "where" and, most importantly, "what."

The opportunities of the platform

YouTube also offers opportunities in terms of Educational content and media education. Young people have the opportunity to use videos about school or study content to expand their knowledge. In addition, YouTube gives many areas (including media education and politics) the chance to reach young people in a different way. Be it the integration of YouTube stars, interesting and youth-oriented information videos or participative and productive projects in connection with the platform.

YouTube age restriction

 The age specifications are unfortunately formulated in a more complicated way in the Terms of Use of YouTube   . In detail applies:

  • 16th birthday: Children under 16 cannot create a Google account themselves. Consequently, they cannot register with YouTube. Exception: Parents have a Google account, activate a sub-account for the child and thus open up access possibilities for the child, which they can, however, manage/restrict/supervise themselves.
  • 18th birthday: Strictly speaking, all children and young people under the age of 18 require parental consent for any use of YouTube (i.e. even just watching videos). From the age of 18, all services can be used independently and without parental consent.

YouTube for kids - the YouTube Kids app

YouTube offers the app YouTube Kids especially for children. It contains selected videos for children based on algorithms and feedback from users. Operation is tailored to the needs of children. Commenting and uploading videos is not possible with YouTube Kids. The video search can be switched off at  so that children can only access selected videos in the categories Series, Music, Learn and Explore . Parents with Google account have the option of creating an individual profile for each child, choosing between three age levels . Using a timer function , parents canlimit the time they use the app.

Donot leave children alone with the app, because YouTube Kids can also display inappropriate videos. There is no one-hundred-percent guarantee for content suitable for children, even with YouTube Kids.

YouTube's ad-financed business model affects the quality of the video content. In addition to educationally valuable videos, there are therefore also many videos with commercial content (hidden marketing and product placements) as well as paid advertisements before the videos. Younger children can hardly recognize commercial clips with well-known characters from children's shows as advertising in particular. It is therefore important todiscuss advertising and marketing strategies with children at . Children under the age of seven should , wherever possible, use ad-free offerings in safe surfing spaces that are specifically adapted to their developmental stage and viewing habits.

Self-dramatization of the YouTube stars

How do YouTubers achieve such fame in the first place? What makes them so popular with their audience? In order to be able to answer these questions, the terms self-promotion and self-staging are of great importance.

Generally speaking, the urge to present oneself is not a new phenomenon that has only come about as a result of the Internet. The sociologist Erving Goffman already dealt with the topic of self-presentation in the 1960s.

Then, as now, we try to present ourselves to our counterparts. Positive characteristics are to be brought to the fore and negative sides of the personality to the background. With the urge to self-portrayal also arises the desire for perfectionism, recognition, praise and admiration. Already in everyday situations we strive consciously and unconsciously to put our person "in the right light". The staging of the role is one of the most important aspects of achieving the greatest possible popularity for YouTubers.

Particularly through the genre of beauty and lifestyle, role models are provided that convey a false image of the "star next door" to many fans. Some YouTubers show themselves without makeup in their videos and repeatedly emphasize the importance of their own identity. In the meantime, however, stars are increasingly turning to commerce and the monetization that the platform offers.

In addition to the fun of self-dramatization and the positive feedback it generates, YouTube stars are not only interested in the confirmation of their persona or role, but also in the economic aspect.

YouTubers embody what their fans expect from them. It is not for nothing that they are often referred to as "stars you can touch". By communicating via YouTube or Twitter and Instagram, they give their fans the feeling of closeness and friendship or act as advisors to their followers.

Was ist YouTube?

Ursprünglich wurde YouTube entwickelt, um Nutzer*innen die Möglichkeit zu bieten, ihre eigenen Videos hochzuladen und mit anderen zu teilen. Doch YouTube hat eine rasante Entwicklung hin zur Professionalisierung durchlaufen. Prägend hierfür waren u.A. auch die Einführung des Partnerprogramms, die Monetarisierung von Videos und das kreative Potential der Akteur*innen. Somit steigt die Zahl der stetig professioneller werdenden Videos. Sie haben die unterschiedlichsten Genres von Mode und Beauty über Musik, Sport, Education bis hin zu kommentierten Videospielen (so genannten „Let's Plays“). Auf diese kann ohne technische Hindernisse und Anmeldeszenarien zugegriffen werden.

Die Plattform lässt aufgrund der riesigen Breite an verschiedenen Genres und Themen kaum Wünsche offen. Suchen Nutzende eine Anleitung zum Bauen eines individuellen Regales, bietet YouTube eine Vielzahl an hilfreichen Videos. Genauso werden beispielsweise Fitness-Workouts aufgeboten. YouTube ist also nicht nur eine Möglichkeit, unterhalten zu werden. Es ist eine soziale Plattform, die neben Comedy und Musik für viele Anliegen ein hilfreiches Video bietet.

Während das Fernsehen zeitlich und räumlich viele Einschränkungen hat und hauptsächlich den Charakter der Unterhaltung besitzt, lässt YouTube die freie Wahl nach dem „Wann“ und dem „Wo“ und ganz besonders dem „Was“.

Die Chancen der Plattform

YouTube bietet auch Chancen in Bezug auf Bildungsinhalte und Medienbildung. Jugendliche haben die Möglichkeit Videos über Schul- bzw. Studieninhalte zur Wissenserweiterung zu nutzen. Zudem gibt YouTube vielen Bereichen (u.a. der Medienpädagogik und der Politik) die Chance, Jugendliche auf eine andere Art zu erreichen. Sei es das Einbinden von YouTube-Stars, interessante und jugendgerecht gestaltete Informationsvideos oder partizipative und produktive Projekte in Verbindung mit der Plattform.

YouTube Altersbeschränkung

Die Altersangaben sind in den Nutzungsbedingungen von YouTube leider etwas komplizierter formuliert. Im Einzelnen gilt:

  • 16. Geburtstag: Ein Google-Konto können Kinder unter 16 Jahren nicht selbst anlegen. Folglich können sie sich nicht bei YouTube registrieren. Ausnahme: Die Eltern haben ein Google-Konto, schalten ein Unterkonto für das Kind frei und eröffnen diesem so Zugriffsmöglichkeiten, die sie allerdings selbst verwalten/beschränken/beaufsichtigen können
  • 18. Geburtstag: Streng genommen benötigen alle Kinder und Jugendlichen unter 18 Jahren für jegliche Nutzung von YouTube (also auch nur das Ansehen von Videos) die Zustimmung der Eltern. Ab 18 können dann alle Dienste eigenverantwortlich und ohne Zustimmung der Eltern in Anspruch genommen bzw. genutzt werden.

Youtube für Kinder – die App YouTube Kids

YouTube bietet speziell für Kinder die App YouTube Kids an. Sie beinhaltet ausgewählte Videos für Kinder basierend auf Algorithmen und Rückmeldungen von Nutzer*innen. Die Bedienung ist auf kindliche Nutzer*innen abgestimmt. Kommentieren und Hochladen von Videos ist bei YouTube Kids nicht möglich. Die Videosuche ist ausschaltbar, so dass Kinder nur ausgewählte Videos in den Kategorien Serien, Musik, Lernen und Erkunden ansteuern können. Eltern mit Google-Konto haben die Möglichkeit, für jedes Kind ein individuelles Profil zu erstellen und dabei zwischen drei Altersstufen zu wählen. Anhand einer Timer-Funktion können Eltern die zeitliche Nutzung der App begrenzen.

Lassen Sie Kinder nicht mit der App alleine, denn auch bei YouTube Kids können unpassende Videos angezeigt werden. Eine hundertprozentige Garantie für kindgerechte Inhalte gibt es auch bei YouTube Kids nicht.

Das werbefinanzierte Geschäftsmodell von YouTube wirkt sich auf die Qualität der Videoinhalte aus. Neben pädagogisch wertvollen Videos finden sich daher auch viele Videos mit kommerziellem Inhalt (versteckte Marketing- und Produktplatzierungen) sowie bezahlte Werbeanzeigen vor den Videos. Besonders kommerzielle Clips mit bekannten Figuren aus Kindersendungen können jüngere Kinder kaum als Werbung erkennen. Es ist daher wichtig, mit Kindern Werbe- und Vermarktungstrategien zu besprechen. Kinder unter sieben Jahren sollten möglichst werbefreie Angebote in sicheren Surfräumen nutzen, die speziell auf ihren Entwicklungstand und ihre Sehgewohnheiten angepasst sind.

Selbstinszenierung der YouTube-Stars

Wie erlangen YouTuber*innen überhaupt eine solche Berühmtheit? Was macht sie bei ihrem Publikum so beliebt? Um diese Fragen beantworten zu können, sind die Begriffe Selbstdarstellung und Selbstinszenierung von großer Bedeutung.

Der Drang zur Selbstdarstellung ist allgemein betrachtet kein neues Phänomen, das erst durch das Internet zustande gekommen ist. Schon der Soziologe Erving Goffman beschäftigte sich in den 1960ern mit dem Thema der Darstellung des Selbst.

Damals wie auch heute versuchen wir uns vor unserem Gegenüber in Szene zu setzen. Positive Merkmale sollen in den Vordergrund gerückt werden und negative Seiten der Persönlichkeit in den Hintergrund. Mit dem Drang zur Selbstdarstellung entsteht auch der Wunsch nach Perfektionismus, Anerkennung, Lob und Bewunderung. Bereits in alltäglichen Situationen bemühen wir uns bewusst und unbewusst, unsere Person "in das rechte Licht zu rücken". Die Inszenierung der Rolle gehört zu einem der wichtigsten Aspekte des Erlangens von möglichst großer Beliebtheit für YouTuber*innen.

Besonders durch das Genre Beauty und Lifestyle werden Rollenvorbilder vorgegeben, die bei vielen Fans ein falsches Bild von dem „Star von nebenan“ vermitteln. Einige YouTuber*innen zeigen sich in ihren Videos ungeschminkt und betonen immer wieder die Wichtigkeit einer eigenen Identität. Inzwischen entwickeln sich die Stars jedoch immer mehr hin zum Kommerz und der Monetarisierung, die die Plattform bietet.

Neben dem Spaß an der Selbstinszenierung und den positiven Rückmeldungen die dadurch erreicht werden, geht es YouTube-Stars also nicht nur um die Bestätigung ihrer Person oder ihrer Rolle, sondern auch um den wirtschaftlichen Aspekt.

Die YouTuber*innen verkörpern das, was ihre Fans von ihnen erwarten. Nicht umsonst werden sie oftmals als "Stars zum Anfassen" bezeichnet. Durch das Kommunizieren über YouTube oder Twitter und Instagram vermitteln sie ihren Fans das Gefühl von Nähe und Freundschaft oder fungieren als Berater ihrer Anhänger.