What is the minimum age for WhatsApp, Instagram, TikTok and Co.

Parents are increasingly being asked by their children whether they are allowed to use Instagram, WhatsApp, TikTok or other online services. One argument that parents are likely to know very well is "The others are allowed to do it too! In many cases, peer pressure actually plays a big role. If the majority of the class uses WhatsApp, Instagram, etc. for exchanges, children either don't get a lot of information at all or get it too late. However, this should in no way mean rashly allowing their use.

Social networks and messengers are not suitable for all ages. For example, the use of popular services is subject to age restrictions imposed by the providers, which can be found in the terms of use.

Even though there is usually no verification of the actual age, parents should take these age restrictions seriously and talk to their child about why the use of certain services may not (yet) be suitable for their child. In addition, there are also suitable offers for younger children to make their first experiences with online communication in an environment that is as safe as possible.

Minimum age according to terms of use

According to the general terms and conditions of Facebook (as of October 2022), users can register at the age of 13. There is no age verification.

According to the Terms of Use , the minimum age for Instagram is 13 years (as of October 2022). An age verification does not take place.

According to the terms of use, the minimum age for European users is 16 years (as of October 2022).

The age specifications in the Terms of Use are not easy to understand on YouTube. However, the following applies overall: All children and young people under 18 years of age require parental consent for any use of YouTube (i.e. even just watching videos) (as of October 2022).

Since YouTube belongs to Google, a Google account is required to log in to YouTube. Children under 16 are not allowed to create a Google account. Consequently, they cannot register with YouTube. However, the basic functions of YouTube (e.g. watching videos) can be used as a guest even without a Google account.
Exception: Parents with a Google account can activate an account with parental control for their child. The child account can then be used by the child, but is managed and supervised by the parents. There is no minimum age for a parent-supervised account.

From the age of 16, YouTube registration can be done with one's own Google account. However, parental consent is still required for anyone between the ages of 16 and 18 to register with YouTube.

For younger children, parents can set up an account at YouTube Kids . There is no minimum age requirement for the YouTube Kids account.

The video network stipulates in the terms of use that users must be at least 13 years old (as of October 2022).

The social media app requires a minimum age of 13 years (as of October 2022) in its Terms of Use . However, there is no reliable age verification. All persons under the age of 18 require the consent of their legal guardians to create an account. Parental consent is also not verified.

In order to use the streaming service for music, you must be18 years old according to the Terms and Conditions  (as of October 2022). The use from 16 years is allowed, provided that the legal guardians haveagreed . Since mid-2020, the Spotify Kids service has been offered, which may also be used by children and young people and only contains content suitable for this age group. A minimum age is not specified by Spotify. However, Spotify Kids is only accessible if a paid Spotify Premium Family subscription has been taken out.

According to the general terms and conditions, a Neflix account may only be opened from the age of 18 (as of October 2022). People under 18 are only allowed to use the streaming service under the supervision of an adult. It is recommended that parents create a separate child profile for their children and additionally secure their own profiles. In 2020, Netflix expanded the parental control settings so that each profile can be customized and protected with a PIN, for example.

Welches Mindestalter gilt für WhatsApp, Instagram, TikTok und Co.?

Immer früher werden Eltern von ihren Kindern gefragt, ob sie Instagram, WhatsApp, TikTok oder andere Online-Angebote nutzen dürfen. Ein Argument, dass Eltern dabei sehr gut kennen dürften, lautet „Die Anderen dürfen das auch!“. In vielen Fällen spielt der Druck der Gleichaltrigen tatsächlich eine große Rolle. Wenn der überwiegende Teil der Klasse WhatsApp, Instagram, usw. für den Austausch verwendet, bekommen Kinder viele Informationen entweder gar nicht oder zu spät mit. Dies sollte aber in keinem Fall bedeuten, die Nutzung vorschnell zu erlauben.

Soziale Netzwerke und Messenger sind nicht für jedes Alter geeignet. So ist die Nutzung beliebter Dienste mit Altersbeschränkungen durch die Anbieter verbunden, die in den Nutzungsbedingungen nachzulesen sind.

Auch wenn eine Überprüfung des tatsächlichen Alters meist nicht stattfindet, sollten Erziehende diese Altershinweise ernst nehmen und mit ihrem Kind darüber sprechen, warum die Nutzung bestimmter Dienste vielleicht (noch) nicht für ihr Kind geeignet ist. Zudem gibt es auch für jüngere Kinder passende Angebote, um in möglichst sicherer Umgebung erste Erfahrungen mit der Online-Kommunikation zu machen.

Mindestalter laut Nutzungsbedingungen

User*innen können sich laut den allgemeinen Geschäftsbedingungen von Facebook (Stand: Oktober 2022) mit 13 Jahren anmelden. Eine Altersverifizierung gibt es nicht.

Bei Instagram liegt das Mindestalter gemäß Nutzungsbedingungen bei 13 Jahren (Stand: Oktober 2022). Eine Altersverifikation findet nicht statt.

Laut den Nutzungsbedingungen ist das Mindestalter für europäische Nutzer*innen 16 Jahre (Stand: Oktober 2022).

Die Altersangaben in den Nutzungsbedingungen sind bei YouTube nicht einfach zu verstehen. Es gilt jedoch insgesamt: Alle Kinder und Jugendlichen unter 18 Jahren benötigen für jegliche Nutzung von YouTube (also auch nur das Ansehen von Videos) die Zustimmung der Eltern (Stand: Oktober 2022).

Da YouTube zu Google gehört, ist ein Google-Konto nötig, um sich bei YouTube anzumelden. Kinder unter 16 Jahren dürfen kein Google-Konto anlegen. Folglich können sie sich nicht bei YouTube registrieren. Die Grundfunktionen von YouTube (z.B. Videos ansehen) kann man allerdings auch ohne ein Google-Konto als Gast nutzen.
Ausnahme: Eltern mit einem Google-Konto können ein Konto mit Elternaufsicht für ihr Kind freischalten. Das Kinderkonto kann dann von dem Kind genutzt werden, wird allerdings von den Eltern verwaltet und beaufsichtigt. Für ein Konto mit Elternaufsicht gibt es kein Mindestalter.

Ab 16 Jahren kann die YouTube-Registrierung mit dem eigenen Google-Konto vorgenommen werden. Allerdings ist für die Registrierung von Personen zwischen 16 und 18 Jahren bei YouTube noch die Zustimmung der Eltern erforderlich.

Für jüngere Kinder können Eltern ein Konto auf YouTube Kids einrichten. Für das YouTube Kids Konto gibt es kein Mindestalter.

Das Video-Netzwerk schreibt in den Nutzungsbedingungen, dass User*innen mindestens 13 Jahre alt sein müssen (Stand: Oktober 2022).

Die Social-Media-App verlangt in ihren Nutzungsbedingungen ein Mindestalter von 13 Jahren (Stand: Oktober 2022). Eine zuverlässige Altersverifikation findet allerdings nicht statt. Alle Personen unter 18 Jahren benötigen für die Erstellung eines Accounts die Zustimmung der Erziehungsberechtigten. Auch die Zustimmung der Erziehungsberechtigten wird nicht überprüft.

Um den Streamingdienst für Musik nutzen zu dürfen, muss man laut der Allgemeinen Geschäftsbedingungen 18 Jahre alt sein (Stand: Oktober 2022). Die Nutzung ab 16 Jahren ist erlaubt, sofern die Erziehungsberechtigten zugestimmt haben. Seit Mitte 2020 wird der Dienst Spotify Kids angeboten, der auch von Kindern und Jugendlichen genutzt werden darf und nur für diese Altersgruppe geeignete Inhalte enthält. Ein Mindestalter wird von Spotify nicht angegeben. Spotify Kids ist allerdings nur zugänglich, wenn ein kostenpflichtiges Spotify Premium Family Abo abgeschlossen wurde.

Ein Neflix-Account darf laut den allgemeinen Geschäftsbedingungen erst ab 18 Jahren eröffnet werden (Stand: Oktober 2022). Personen unter 18 Jahren dürfen den Streaming-Dienst nur unter Aufsicht einer erwachsenen Person nutzen. Es ist empfehlenswert, dass Eltern für ihre Kinder ein eigenes Kinderprofil anlegen und zusätzlich die eigenen Profile sichern. 2020 hat Netflix die Kindersicherungseinstellungen erweitert, sodass jedes Profil angepasst und z.B. mit einer PIN geschützt werden kann.