Democracy Education

Attacks on our democracy through fake news, disinformation and extremist movements are increasingly taking place on the Internet. In social networks, messenger groups and online forums, extremist attitudes thrive and find followers. Online, children and young people thus also come into contact with extremist ideologies. At the same time, they can actively live democracy and participation online. For example, by participating in online discussions and voting. So on the one hand, children and young people must be aware of the dangers to democracy on the Internet and deal competently with news. On the other hand, they need to be excited about the many opportunities for democratic participation. On this page, we present klicksafe offers to help you with this.

Teaching materials for democracy education

Fake news, conspiracy theories, disinformation campaigns and the global rise of right-wing populist parties make this very clear. Our democratic achievements cannot be taken for granted. They must be cherished and protected. Islamist attacks and extremist propaganda are also ways of shaking our Western democracies. In addition, there has been a high level of group-related misanthropy from the center of our German society for years - for example, against refugees. The fact that democracy must be defended again and again is also shown by censorship and the increasing persecution of human rights activists worldwide.

The school class becomes a gym with #FitForDemocracy

Our teaching material #fitfordemocracy addresses these problems and aims to empower young people. #fitfordemocracy is a station work for the classroom that is intended to reach young people in their lifeworld and take them along. At various stations - in analogy to a real gym - topics and situations are addressed that young people encounter in analog and digital life. Creativity and wit are used to convey the joy of democracy and community.

Training Democracy with Democracy Gym

Democracy is like a muscle that needs to be exercised. The Democracy Gym brochure takes up this idea. It bundles eleven media-based methods for educational practice in schools and extracurricular youth education. "Democracy Gym" consists of two modular training plans with complementary warm-up and cool-down exercises. They support professionals in getting young people excited about our democracy with creativity and wit within the realities of their lives.

klicksafe asks: Can democracy be learned?

Democracy education is one of the fundamental tasks of the German school system. But how can democracy be taught and learned in school? Christine Achenbach-Carret from the University of Trier answers this question in the klicksafe podcast. She is an expert on democracy education in schools and has worked on the klicksafe teaching materials #fitfordemocracy and Democracy Gym.

Videos, knowledge quiz & Survey

To get young people excited about democracy, they need role models. They also need to get an idea of why democracy is relevant to their lives. At this point, we offer materials that focus on these two aspects. In two video series, we show teens and young adults exploring the topic of democracy. With an online quiz, young people can test their knowledge and learn where they encounter democracy in everyday life. And in a survey, we asked young people about false news and democracy.

Infovideos #FitForDemocracy

klicksafe published two videos on the topic of "Fit for democracy, strong for society". In them, Jokah Tululu and Gardinia Borto give young people an insight into their personal views on the subject of democracy. Both are known for their successful social media channels. While Jokah primarily comments on the corrosive effect of hate and agitation, Gardinia brings good reasons for a spirited commitment to freedom and diversity in democracy.

klicksafe quiz on the topic of democracy education

In this quiz, young people can put their knowledge of democracy to the test. The quiz can also be used in school lessons or together with parents to approach the topic together and discuss the questions.

Youth Talk #FitForDemocracy

For Safer Internet Day 2022, we talked to young people about the topic of democracy. What is the first thing that comes to mind when young people think of "democracy"? What do they see as the dangers, but also the opportunities, of the Internet for democracy? What would they stand up for themselves and take to the streets for? Manahil, Jonathan and Lisa tell us in our four short videos.

forsa survey on false news and democracy

On behalf of klicksafe, 14- to 24-year-olds were surveyed about false news and democracy. 96% of the young respondents stated that it is important to them to live in a democracy. Almost 70% of those surveyed see the factor of false information as a threat to democracy. The key findings of the survey can be found here.

Demokratiebildung

Angriffe auf unsere Demokratie durch Fake News, Desinformation und extremistische Bewegungen finden zunehmend im Internet statt. In sozialen Netzwerken, Messenger-Gruppen und Online-Foren gedeihen extremistische Einstellungen und finden Anhängerschaft. Online kommen so auch Kinder und Jugendliche mit extremistischen Ideologien in Berührung. Gleichzeitig können sie im Netz Demokratie und Beteiligung aktiv leben. Zum Beispiel durch die Teilnahme an Online-Diskussionen und Abstimmungen. Kinder und Jugendliche müssen also einerseits die Gefahren für die Demokratie im Internet kennen und kompetent mit Nachrichten umgehen. Andererseits müssen sie begeistert werden für die vielen Möglichkeiten der demokratischen Beteiligung. Auf dieser Seite stellen wir klicksafe-Angebote vor, die Ihnen dabei helfen.

Lehrmaterialien zur Demokratiebildung

Fake News, Verschwörungstheorien, Desinformationskampagnen und das weltweite Erstarken rechtspopulistischer Parteien machen es sehr deutlich. Unsere demokratischen Errungenschaften sind nicht selbstverständlich. Sie müssen gehegt und beschützt werden. Auch islamistische Anschläge und extremistische Propaganda sind Mittel, um unsere westlichen Demokratien zu erschüttern. Hinzu kommt das seit Jahren hohe Level an gruppenbezogener Menschenfeindlichkeit aus der Mitte unserer deutschen Gesellschaft – zum Beispiel gegen Geflüchtete. Dass Demokratie immer wieder verteidigt werden muss, zeigen auch Zensur und die weltweit zunehmende Verfolgung von Menschenrechts-Aktivist*innen.

Die Schulklasse wird zum Fitnessstudio mit #FitForDemocracy

Unser Lehrmaterial #fitfordemocracy greift diese Probleme auf und möchte Jugendliche stärken. #fitfordemocracy ist eine Stationenarbeit für den Unterricht, die Jugendliche in ihrer Lebenswelt erreichen und mitnehmen soll. An verschiedenen Stationen – in Analogie zum echten Fitnessstudio – werden Themen und Situationen aufgegriffen, die Jugendlichen im analogen und im digitalen Leben begegnen. Durch Kreativität und Witz soll Freude an der Demokratie und Gemeinschaft vermittelt werden.

Demokratie trainieren mit Democracy Gym

Demokratie ist wie ein Muskel, der trainiert werden muss. Die Broschüre „Democracy Gym“ greift diesen Gedanken auf. Sie bündelt elf medienbasierte Methoden für die pädagogische Praxis in Schule und außerschulischer Jugendbildung. „Democracy Gym“ besteht aus zwei modularen Trainingsplänen mit ergänzenden Warm-Up- und Cool-Down-Übungen. Sie unterstützen Fachkräfte dabei, Jugendliche mit Kreativität und Witz innerhalb ihrer Lebensrealitäten für unsere Demokratie begeistern.

klicksafe fragt: Kann man Demokratie lernen?

Demokratiebildung ist eine der grundlegenden Aufgaben des deutschen Schulsystems. Aber wie lässt sich Demokratie in der Schule vermitteln und lernen? Diese Frage beantwortet Christine Achenbach-Carret von der Universität Trier im klicksafe-Podcast. Sie ist Expertin für demokratiepädagogische Schulentwicklung und hat am klicksafe-Unterrichtsmaterial #fitfordemocracy und Democracy Gym mitgearbeitet.

Videos, Wissensquiz & Umfrage

Um Jugendliche für Demokratie zu begeistern, brauchen sie Vorbilder. Außerdem müssen sie eine Vorstellung davon bekommen, warum Demokratie für ihr Leben relevant ist. An dieser Stelle bieten wir Materialien, die diese beiden Aspekte in den Mittelpunkt rücken. In zwei Videoreihen zeigen wir Jugendliche und junge Erwachsene, die sich mit dem Thema Demokratie beschäftigen. Mit einem Online-Quiz können Jugendliche ihr Wissen testen und lernen, wo ihnen Demokratie im Alltag begegnet. Und in einer Umfrage haben wir Jugendliche zum Thema Falschmeldungen und Demokratie befragt.

Infovideos #FitForDemocracy

Zum Thema „Fit für die Demokratie, stark für die Gesellschaft“ veröffentlichte klicksafe zwei Videos. Jokah Tululu und Gardinia Borto geben darin jungen Menschen Einblick in ihre persönliche Sicht auf das Thema Demokratie. Bekannt sind beide durch ihre erfolgreichen Social-Media-Kanäle. Während Jokah sich vor allem zu der zersetzenden Wirkung von Hass und Hetze äußert, bringt Gardinia gute Gründe für ein beherztes Engagement für die Freiheit und Vielfalt in der Demokratie.

klicksafe-Quiz zum Thema Demokratiebildung

In diesem Quiz können Jugendliche ihr Wissen zum Thema Demokratie auf die Probe stellen. Das Quiz kann auch im Schulunterricht oder zusammen mit Eltern genutzt werden, um sich gemeinsam dem Thema zu nähern und die Fragen zu diskutieren.

Youth-Talk #FitForDemocracy

Zum Safer Internet Day 2022 haben wir mit Jugendlichen über das Thema Demokratie gesprochen. Was fällt jungen Menschen bei „Demokratie“ als erstes ein? Was sind aus ihrer Sicht Gefahren, aber auch Chancen des Internets für die Demokratie? Wofür würden sie sich selbst starkmachen und auf die Straße gehen? Das erzählen uns Manahil, Jonathan und Lisa in unseren vier Kurzvideos.

forsa-Umfrage zu Falschmeldungen und Demokratie

Im Auftrag von klicksafe wurden 14- bis 24-Jährige zu Falschmeldungen und Demokratie befragt. 96 % der jungen Befragten gaben an, dass es ihnen wichtig bis sehr wichtig ist, in einer Demokratie zu leben. Knapp 70 % der Befragten sehen dabei den Faktor Falschinformationen als Gefährdung für die Demokratie an. Die zentralen Ergebnisse der Befragung finden Sie hier.